Was Coco Chanel a Branding Guru?

“I don’t like people talking about the Chanel fashion, Chanel – above all else, is a style. Fashion, you see, goes out of fashion. Style never” Coco Chanel

Utter Delight descended upon me at the Dining by Design DIFFA fundraiser in New York, A place at the table was set Honoring the Queen of Fashion Royalty Mademoiselle, Iconic Pearls and a bottle of No.5 graced her setting.

Image

Two simple iconic elements that distinguish the Chanel Style, classic and timeless. Mademoiselle Chanel was a branding genius before her time. She took classic iconic elements and made them her own to distinguish herself from her competition and built the prestige of the Chanel name with gold chains, faux pearls, a white Camellia, the black & white combo, the Chanel Suit, little black dresses and an iconic perfume. She lived only for her work, no detail escaped her lazer like eye and the passion that she brought to it was the secret of her allure.

Image

My grandmother taught me how to sew when I was seven. She bestowed a love of fabric and a passion for what’s possible when designing and helped me to define my creative language. I was 12 by the time I discovered Chanel. She had used her god given creative talent and though her own vision and charm became a self made woman and a brand with longevity. I thought she was cool and aspired to be like her.  Though my career has taken a different path, I’m still deeply inspired by a love of the materials I use and the creative alchemy that I experience when designing. The cleverness of Coco Chanel continues to inspire me.

Image

“Adornment, what a science! Beauty, what a weapon! Modesty, what elegance!” Coco Chanel

Leave a Reply

